Name: NRA Range Safety Officer Course
- $150.00 per student
- Minimum deposit $30.00
Short Description: Develops NRA Certified Range Safety Officers with the knowledge, skills, and attitude essential to organizing, conducting, and supervising safe shooting activities and range operations.
Prerequisite: Student must be 21 years of age.
More Details: This course is nine hours long and is conducted in a classroom and at a shooting facility. Range Safety Officer candidates will learn roles and responsibilities of an RSO; Range Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs); range inspection; range rules; range briefings; emergency procedures; and firearm stoppages and malfunctions. Each Range Safety Officer Candidate will receive an RSO Student Study Guide, a Basic Firearm Training Program brochure, an NRA Gun Safety Rules brochure, an Instructor Application/Course Evaluation form. (Lesson Plan 10-05, revised 01-10).
From The Instructors: .
Unlike other courses, This course also has additional fees you will need to pay the
NRA for processing and yearly certification fees.The processing fee is $20. for NRA
members or $25. for NON NRA members. The Certification fee to maintain your Range
Safety Officer rating is $6. per year for NRA members and $11.00 per year for Non NRA
members. We submit your application and test scores to the NRA and they will process
your application and issue your Range Safety Officer Certificate of Completion. You
will need to get a 90% score on the Range Safety Officer test to qualify for the RSO
Note: RSO processing and certification fees are determined by the National Rifle
Association and are subject to change.
Lesson I: Introduction to the NRA Basic Range Safety Officer Course.
Lesson II: The Role of the NRA Range Safety Officer and Range Standard Operating Procedures.
Lesson III: Range Inspection and Range Rules.
Lesson IV: Range Safety Briefing.
Lesson V: Emergency Procedures.
Lesson VI: Firearm Stoppages and Malfunctions.
Lesson VII: Test and Review.
Question: I'm not an NRA member, Do I need to be an NRA member to take this course ?
Answer: No, you do NOT need to be an NRA member to take this course.
Question: I'm not from Pennsylvania, will I need a License to shoot in Pennsylvania ?
Answer: No, Pennsylvania does not require a License to handle or shoot a firearm.
Question: If I'm under the age of 18 can I come and take part in this course ?
Answer: No, you must be at least 21 years of age to take this course.
Question: I would like to get my Concealed Carry Permit in New York City. But NYC requires "A statement
indicating that the applicant has been trained or will receive training in the use and safety of
a handgun". Does the Basic Pistol Shooting Course Satisfy the NYC Requirements ?
Answer: Yes, This Basic Pistol Shooting Course Satisfies the NYC and NY State Requirement. This course also satisfies the safety course requirements for most States. You should verify with your local jurisdiction who issues your carry permit, as gun laws constantly change.